Donate Call for Help Now Find a Base


087 094 9774
NSRI’s 51st Annual General Meeting and Awards evening was held in Cape Town on Saturday 9th June 2018 at The Century City Conference Centre.Sea Rescue honoured contributions under the following categories: bravery, special service, station awards and long service awards from 20 to 50 years. Mark Bayly, a Sea Rescue ambassador, once again donated his time as our MC.

Recognition for the exceptional effort during the Knysna and Plettenberg Bay Fires in 2017CEO Letters of Appreciation were presented to: NSRI Station 12 Knysna and NSRI Station 14 Plettenberg Bay

Station Commander Stn 12 Knysna Jerome Simonis, Dr Cleeve Robertson and Station Commander Stn 14 Plettenberg BayTHANDI RESCUE:

On the afternoon of the 15th September 2017, crews from our NSRI Station 3 Table Bay, NSRI Station 8 Hout Bay and NSRI Training boats went to the assistance of the Robben Island ferry, the ‘Thandi’, when she began to take on water in Table Bay with 68 passengers on board.

CEO Letters of Appreciation were presented to:

Andrew Keil, Bevan Geyser, Bianca van Zyl, Brett Ayres, Carmen Long, Craig McIver, Daryn Clark, Davide del Fante, Gal Chiles, Graeme Harding, Hans-Daniel Heimann, Heather Forrer, Ian Watson, Marc de Vos, Nadia Niemann, Patrick van Eyssen, Paul de Villiers, Paula Leech, Robin Fortuin, Robyn Silverstone, Rory Friedman, Rudi Fisch and Yaseen Gamiet Thandi RescueOriginal media release -


Recognition from the International Maritime Rescue Federation H.E.R.O. awards as the runner up for an Outstanding Team Contribution to the NSRI’s schools’ education programme in 2017. Our Water Safety Instructors around the country have taught over 1.6m children how to be safe around water, as part of our drowning prevention programme. The Award was presented to the water safety team leader Eoudia Erasmus and Instructor Charles McHelm at a ceremony in Poole by International Maritime Rescue Federation in November 2017. Award presented to Euodia ErasmusSTATION AWARDS:The Most Improved Station of the year 2017 awarded to: Station 16 Strandfontein Station Commander Stn 16 Strandfontein, Vaughn Seconds with Mark Hughes, Operations DirectorThe Best RIB Station of the year 2017 awarded to: Station 21 St Francis Bay Station Commander Stn 21 St Francis Bay, Sara Smith with Mark Hughes, Operations DirectorThe Pat O Sullivan Trophy, for the best Class 1 Station 2017 awarded to: Station 17 Hermanus Station 17 Hermanus crew accepts the Pat O Sullivan award. Hermanus receives a surprise pledge from Sumaridge Wines for R755 500SPECIAL SERVICE AWARDS:MARMION MARSH TROPHY 2017 awarded to: Howard Godfrey for his individual noteworthy service to the cause of Sea Rescue in South Africa for over 46 years. (Howard was unfortunately not able to join us this evening)ALRIC SIMPSON TROPHY 2017 awarded to: The Publishing Partnership for their remarkable effort and contribution since 2004 to the successful production and publication of the NSRI Magazine “SEA RESCUE”. The Award is presented by Chairman Ronnie Stein and CEO Cleeve Robertson to Ryan Manning, Mark Beare, Wendy Maritz and John MorkelHONORARY LIFE MEMBERSHIP awarded to volunteers and staff that have been in service for more than 25 years and for their commitment to Sea Rescue. Andrew Ingram, Andy Connell, Anita Conrad, Brad Geyser, Christopher Hudson, Craig Lambinon, David Roberts, David Robins, Edward Noyons, Gerald Staverees, Graeme Harding, Hendrik Niehaus, Howard Godfrey, Ian Strachan, Ian Wienburg, John Bailey Brown, Mark Hughes, Michael Elliot, Petronella Jacobs, Phil Ress, Robert Stirrat, Shawn Michaels, Stephanie Daniels and Theresa Medicine Directors’ Thanks to Andy Connell - on the occasion of his standing down as Station Commander of Station 29 Air Sea Rescue. Directors’ Thanks to Dave Roberts - on the occasion of his standing down as Regional Representative of NSRI Region 2, Cape Town. Chairman’s Letter of Appreciation to Howard Godfrey - on the occasion of his standing down from the Awards Committee. Rob Stirrat accepts award on Howard Godfrey's behalfLONG SERVICE AWARDS recognise the loyalty and personal sacrifice of our dedicated crew. Thank you to each one of you and thank you to your wives/husbands and families and your employers, who encourage and support you. 20 Years Krista Lazzari – Head Office Paula Leech – Station 3 Table Bay Barbara McNamara – Station 5 Durban and Head Office Adrian James – Station 6 Port Elizabeth Alan Singman – Station 6 Port Elizabeth Dewan Henn – Station 17 Hermanus25 Years Craig Lambinon – Station 2 Bakoven and Spokesman Grant Skinner – Station 3 Table Bay Andre Fletcher – Station 5 Durban Malcolm Manion – Station 5 Durban Stuart Buchanan – Station 10 Simon’s Town Andre Jerling – Station 14 Plettenberg Bay Hendrik Niehaus – Station 23 Wilderness Shawn Michaels – Station 34 Yzerfontein30 Years Stephanie Daniels – Head Office Andrew Matthews – Station 8 Hout Bay Spencer Oldham – Station 8 Hout Bay Graeme Harding – Station 12 Knysna and Head Office Stephane Le Roux – Station 14 Plettenberg Bay Dawie Zwiegelaar – Station 15 Mossel Bay Edward Noyons – Station 20 Shelly Beach, Regional Director and Director35 Years Andrew Ingram – Station 2 Bakoven and Head OfficeHoward Bell – Station 2 Bakoven Erwin Selk – Station 10 Simon’s Town Ian Klopper – Station 26 Kommetjie40 Years Jessica accepts Michael Clark – Station 17 Hermanus on his behalf Mark Hughes – Station 19 Richards Bay and Head Office50 Years Standing ovation for Ian Strachan, for 50 years of service Ian Strachan – Station 9 Gordon’s Bay, then Regional Director, Director and Honorary Life GovernorWe would like to thank the following people that help make our AGM a success.
  • Gary Koetser and team, especially Liora Ment, from Century City Conference Centre & Hotel – for their sponsorship and incredible service
  • Barry Farrell and team from Inhouse VTM for the special price for AV equipment and fantastic support
  • Holly Bellingham and Simon Turner from Sumaridge Wines for sponsoring the wines this evening
  • Mark Bayly, our MC
  • DHL for sponsoring the gift for the Station Commanders conference and the Integrated Report
  • CROCs for sponsoring a gift for each of our long service rescue crew
  • The partners and family of our volunteers
Images are available for download via link below: Natasha, Bongi, Cleeve, Michaela, Wendy and Megan in the front. Pic: Graeme Harding
Next Article

The Publishing Partnership acknowledged for their remarkable contribution

Read More

You may also like

EOC Image for Vacancy 2
VACANCIES  | Published: 13 March 2023

Vacancy: Emergency Operations Centre Operator

Sea Rescue is looking to appoint an Emergency Control Room Operator based at Milnerton. This is a shift-based role, involving both day and night shifts of 12-hour durations. (07h00 to 19h00 & 19h00 to 07h00). Purpose: To assist stations to ...

Station 39 Rocky Bay 01
RESCUES  | Published: 12 March 2023

SCOTTBURGH – Teenager missing

Police Search and Rescue are continuing in an ongoing search for a 17 year old male who went missing at Scottburgh Beach on Saturday, 11 March. ...

Callout 11 March 10
RESCUES  | Published: 12 March 2023

Update Wilderness search and incidents at Wilderness, Sedgefield, Bantry Bay and Durban

NSRI Wilderness and George Fire and Rescue Services are assisting the Police Dive Unit continuing in an ongoing search for an 18 year old student male who remains missing at Wilderness. Also, A 70 year old German tourist is recovering ...