Gallantry Award for NSRI Knysna and Plett

NSRI Knysna and NSRI Plettenberg Bay are honoured with CEO Letters of Appreciation: It gives us great pleasure to record the sincere appreciation of everyone who knows, for the sterling efforts of all crew on Station 12 and Station 14 during the 8 days of terrible fires that raged between Sedgefield and Plettenberg Bay, from

Continue reading

AGM and Awards Evening 2018

NSRI’s 51st Annual General Meeting and Awards evening was held in Cape Town on Saturday 9th June 2018 at The Century City Conference Centre. Sea Rescue honoured contributions under the following categories: bravery, special service, station awards and long service awards from 20 to 50 years.  Mark Bayly, a Sea Rescue ambassador,  once again donated his time

Continue reading


Founder members: Allan Cramb, Peter Adamo, *the late Bob Deacons grandson and granddaughter and daughter Claire Deacon

NSRI celebrated its 50th Annual General Meeting and Awards evening in Cape Town on Monday 12 June 2017 at The Rotunda, Bay Hotel – Camps Bay. Sea Rescue honoured the contributions of volunteers under the following categories: founder members, gallantry, special service, station awards and long service awards from 20 to 50 years. Mark Bayly, former Survivor

Continue reading

German Kiteboarders receive bravery awards from Sea Rescue

From left: Howard Godfrey (Chairman of the NSRI Awards Committee, Sebastian Deneke, Tim Steinfels and Dr Cleeve Robertson (NSRI CEO)

Last year at our Awards Ceremony and AGM, we honoured two German kiteboarders,  Tim Steinfels and Sebastian Deneke with the prestigious Chief Executive Officer’s Letter of Appreciation for the rescue of kite boarder Markus Wolff near Melkbosstrand.  The men were unable to attend the ceremony so the award was accepted by Mr Klaus Heidorn, Deputy Head of Mission at the German Consulate

Continue reading

NSRI Awards Ceremony and AGM 2016

NSRI infographic 9 months April to December 2015

The 49th National Sea Rescue Institute Awards Ceremony and AGM was held at The Bay Hotel, Camps Bay at 18h00 on Monday 6 June 2016. The Awards ceremony recognised the contribution of the volunteer Sea Rescue crew, as well as others who went beyond the call of duty. This year’s award winners include Howard Godfrey and

Continue reading

Robin Fortuin honoured:

Robin Fortuin, the Strandfontein NSRI volunteer who saved six people from a rip current in December 2013 was honoured at his rescue base tonight, 15 May 2015. Robin got a job as a lifesaver in Abu Dhabi shortly after his heroic rescue and was not able to be at the NSRI awards ceremony in 2014 where

Continue reading


Crew Awards. (back,left to right) Barry Mollett, Senior Crew Person of the Year, John Rolt, Letter of Appreciation, Pieter Coetzee, Coxswain of the Year, Kyle Robertson, Five-year Service Award, and Willem van Wyk, Station Commander’s Floating Trophy.

Station 20 held its annual year-end function and awards evening last week. This year the evening was split into two separate events. The first event was held at the Shelly Beach ski-boat club on Saturday 15 November and was a fun evening with a Hawaiian theme. The second was held at the rescue base and

Continue reading

Awards for Kiani Satu rescue:

Picture caption: NSRI volunteers Donald Oliver and Torsten Henschel with Andy Crawford (co-pilot), Rob Woodrup (engineer, patter) and Jaco Steinberg, pilot, all from Titan Helicopter Group. Picture Monica Vaccaro/NSRI.

Last night ( Thursday 27 Feb 2014) was the awards presentation at NSRI in Wilderness. Five men, including two NSRI volunteers and three from the Titan Helicopter Group were recognised for their rescue of 19 crew from the stricken Kiani Satu. At 03h39 on the 8th of August 2013 Knysna and Wilderness Sea Rescue volunteers

Continue reading

NSRI volunteers receive awards for Robben Island rescue:

The crew of the Claremont come ashore at the Table Bay rescue base.

NSRI volunteers from Station 2 Bakoven, Station 3 Table Bay and Station 18 Melkbosstrand were today given awards for the rescue of 12 fishermen from the trawler Claremont that ran aground on Robben Island during a vicious storm on 13 August 2013. Congratulation to Mark Thompson, Luke van Riet, Coralie McDonald and Ernesta Swanepoel  from

Continue reading